Showing posts with label Countries. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Countries. Show all posts

Friday, October 31, 2014

Canada suspends visas for residents of Ebola-hit African countries

In a bid to also stop the spread of Ebola into its borders, the Canadian government today October 31st announced its suspension of visa applications for travelers from Ebola-hit countries. 

Below is the statement released today by Canada's health minister, Rona Ambrose

"Our number one priority is to protect Canadians. We continue to work with domestic and international partners to aid efforts to respond to the outbreak in West Africa, while strengthening our domestic preparedness here at home."

Tuesday, October 28, 2014

Australia bans Flight from Countries in West Africa over Ebola

The Australian government today announced a flight ban on all flights from West African countries, including Guinea, Sierra Leone and Liberia. Thankfully, Nigeria isn't included.

Making the announcement, the Australia's Minister of Immigration, Scott Morrison said under the new travel ban, no new visas could be issued to intending travelers from these countries and that most temporary visas could be cancelled, this is a bid to prevent the spread of the deadly Ebola virus.

He also said all passengers with permanent visas which have to visit to Australia from these countries will be put through 21 days of isolation inside their countries of departure and upon arrival in Australia will soon be put through a myriad of test. He also announced the suspension of most its West African and Humanitarian programmes.