Tuesday, October 28, 2014

Power Ministry Restructured


Continuing with his Transformation Agenda in the power sector, President Goodluck Jonathan is restructuring the Federal Ministry of Power. In a memo signed by Director of Human Resources Management Mrs.G.P. Papka, the Federal Government has restructured the ministry into eleven departments and six units in line with a letter from the Head of the Civil Service of the Federation.

New departments created include; energy resources, transmission, distribution, renewable and rural power access, investment and sector development, human resources, finance and accounts, planning, research and statistics, general services, reform coordination and service improvement and procurement.

The six units are; legal, press and public relations, public-private partnership, gender, stock verification and sustainable development and climate changes.

New appointments were also carried out to oversee the newly created departments and units. The ministry officially dissolved the Electrical and Inspectorate Services and transferred all its staff and functions to the Electricity Management Services Limited.

Mrs. G.P Papka stated that "It is noted that the restructuring would ensure full implementation of the Electric Power Sector Reform in line with the Transformation Agenda of President Jonathan.”

No comments:

Post a Comment